MK candidates for the 2013 Cornwall Council elections

Nomination for the 2013 Cornwall Council elections on Thursday 2 May, 2013 have been published.
Mebyon Kernow-The Party for Cornwall (MK) is as yet not able to field candidates for all areas, but has now put forward a total of 26 candidates for the Council.
Leader Dick Cole believes it is a strong list of people who would make outstanding councillors.
The full list is as below:
  • Bodmin St Petrocs  –  John Gibbs
  • Bodmin St Marys  –  Roger Lashbrook
  • Bugle  –  Jerry Jefferies
  • Callington  –  Cllr Andrew Long
  • Camborne Pendarves  –  John Gillingham
  • Camborne Roskear  –  John Rowe
  • Camborne Trelowarren  –  Zoe Fox
  • Camborne Treslothan  –  Alan Sanders
  • Camborne Treswithian  –  Mike Champion
  • Crowan and Wendron  –  Cllr Loveday Jenkin
  • Four Lanes  –  Chris Lawrence
  • Fowey and Tywardreath  –  Fiona Carlyon
  • Illogan  –  Stephen Richardson
  • Newlyn and Goonhavern  –  Rod Toms
  • Penryn East and Mylor  –  Dave Garwood
  • Penwithick and Boscoppa  –  Matt Luke
  • Penzance East  –  Rob Simmons
  • Penzance Central  –  Phil Rendle
  • Perranporth  –  Paul Dunbar
  • Poundstock  –  Paul Sousek
  • Roche  –  Brian Higman
  • St Austell Poltair  –  Derek Collins
  • St Dominick, Harrowbarrow and Kelly Bray  –  Maria Coakley
  • St Enoder  –  Cllr Dick Cole
  • St Mawgan and Colan  –  Rob Poole
  • Truro Redannick  –  Lance Dyer
Some interesting contests include:
In Bugle, first-time candidate Jerry Jefferies is up against Conservative, Independent, Labour and Liberal Democrat opponents.
Another first-time candidate Fiona Carlyon is standing in Fowey and Tywardreath, where she is up against the sitting Liberal Democrat councillor and a Conservative.
Former Restormel Councillor Matt Luke is standing in Penwithick and Boscoppaand is also up against a Liberal Democrat and a Conservative.
Hopefully, both Fiona and Matt will be able to encourage all people who are angry at the Coalition parties to coalesce around MK.
In Roche, former County Councillor Brian Higman is standing for MK against the leader of the Independent Group. There is also a token Conservative candidate in this contest – he lives in Newquay!
Chairman of St Austell Town Council’s Planning Committee Derek Collins is our candidate in St Austell Poltair, where local people fought the large Wainhomes application. Derek is opposed by Conservative, Liberal Democrat and Labour candidates.
And in St Mawgan and Colan, Rob Poole has a straight fight with the sitting Conservative councillor and hopefully he can attract a wide array of non-Tory votes.
One sad omission from the list is Cllr Stuart Cullimore, who has served Camborne South with distinction over the last four years. He has significant health problems and is unable to defend his seat. He will be a great loss to the MK team at Lys Kernow. Tamsin Williams, who moved to MK from the Lib Dems last year, has also stood down to take a break from frontline politics.
Now is the time to vote for Cornwall, and the Cornish people – not for parties and politicians fixated on other battles at Westminster!
MK, 5 April, 2013